FREE SHIPPING in U.S. with $35 order!
FREE SHIPPING in U.S. with $35 order!
Cart 0
Tony Jay – Perfect Worlds [WHITE VINYL] – New LP
Tony Jay – Perfect Worlds [WHITE VINYL] – New LP
Tony Jay – Perfect Worlds [WHITE VINYL] – New LP
Slumberland Records

Tony Jay – Perfect Worlds [WHITE VINYL] – New LP

Regular price $ 22.00 $ 0.00

"Perfect Worlds," the newest album by San Francisco's mysterious lo-fi pop legend Tony Jay, delivers an intimate record of thirteen dreamy, assured arrangements. Fresh off the heels of "Hey There Flower," "Perfect Worlds" marks Tony Jay's first album with Slumberland Records and further cements Tony Jay's status as dejected crooner of the quotidian par excellence. Drawing inspiration from failed relationships, lack of sleep, a bicycle injury, and depression, Tony Jay pairs catchy melodies and hushed vocals with ethereal instrumental tracks.

Headed by Michael Ramos, current member of Cindy, Flowertown, Al Harper, and Sad Eyed Beatniks, and former member of April Magazine (and many more), Tony Jay began recording in 2006 and added a live band in 2017. "Perfect Worlds," recorded in Ramos's bedroom and mastered by Mikey Young, features Kelsey Faber, Alexis Harper, and Cameron Baker, with guest vocals by Karina Gill (Cindy, Flowertown, Sad Eyed Beatniks). Studded with instant classics, Tony Jay's new album encapsulates the isolation and loneliness of the past few years. "In a perfect world I'd find a place down in the basement," begins the title track, and the refrain repeats, "You just can't escape it." Interspersed with otherworldly instrumental tracks that call to mind a machine struggling to work underwater and whale mating calls combined with droning synth, horns, chimes, this album also provides space for listeners to make new worlds of their own. Our times may be inescapable, but we're fortunate to be able to wall ourselves in with fantasies of our own creation alongside "Perfect Worlds." 

releases September 15, 2023

Recorded & Mixed by Michael Ramos
Mastered by Mikey Young

Michael Ramos - Guitar, Bass, Percussion, Vocals
Kelsey Faber - Guitar, Keys, Synth
Cameron Baker - Percussion, Glockenspiel
Alexis Harper - Vocals

Additional Vocals #6 by Karina Gill


More from this collection