FREE SHIPPING in U.S. with $35 order!
FREE SHIPPING in U.S. with $35 order!
Cart 0
Esben and the Witch – Hold Sacred [IMPORT] – New LP
Nostromo Records

Esben and the Witch – Hold Sacred [IMPORT] – New LP

Regular price $ 22.00 $ 0.00
Esben and the Witch — comprising Rachel Davies, Thomas Fisher and Daniel Copeman — began in Brighton in 2008, later decamped to Berlin, and is now split three ways across the UK, Germany and the US. Their winding geographical journey feels representative of their path as a whole. The band have snaked through various scenes and sonic worlds across their 14 years together, while always squirming away from an easy genre classification. Their first two albums, 2011’s Violet Cries and 2013’s Wash the Sins Not Only The Face — both released on Matador Records — offered gothic, electronic-tinged dream pop and post-rock. Beginning with the Steve Albini-produced A New Nature (2014, self-released on their own Nostromo Records), they came to explore heavier post-punk and metal textures, which they intensified through 2016’s Older Terrors and 2018’s Nowhere (both via Marseille-based metal label Season of Mist). This record was born in a hot mosquito summer in a terracotta villa an hour outside of Rome.

It bloomed in winter on an abandoned beach in a fishing village close to Porto, overlooking the Atlantic. It found form in a gîte in the middle of the French countryside and grew in a ramshackle old house, full of old cloaks and books in rural Germany.

Protect what is precious. Hold Sacred.

released May 12, 2023

All songs composed and performed by Rachel Davies, Thomas Fisher and Daniel Copeman.
All lyrics written by Rachel Davies.
Recorded and Engineered by Daniel Copeman.
Mixed and Produced by Esben and the Witch.
Mastered by James Plotkin at Plotkin Works, New York, USA.

Esben and the Witch are;
Rachel Davies - Vocals, Bass
Thomas Fisher - Guitar
Daniel Copeman - Keys, Programming

Field Recordings by Esben and the Witch.

Recording and Engineering took place in Roskow, Brandenburg, Germany.

All artwork by Rachel Davies and Thomas Fisher.
Artwork assistance by Kiyoshi Stelzner.

All songs written between 2019 and 2021 in Italy, Portugal, France and Germany.



More from this collection