FREE SHIPPING in U.S. with $35 order!
FREE SHIPPING in U.S. with $35 order!
Cart 0
Daniel Carter, Tobias Wilner, Djibril Toure, Federico Ughie – New York United – New LP
Daniel Carter, Tobias Wilner, Djibril Toure, Federico Ughie – New York United – New LP
577 Records

Daniel Carter, Tobias Wilner, Djibril Toure, Federico Ughie – New York United – New LP

Regular price $ 28.00 $ 0.00
Legendary downtown music master Daniel Carter meets Tobias Wilner from world-renowned electronic band Blue Foundation. Featuring Wu-Tang Clan bass player Djibril Toure & drum wiz Federico Ughi. As a band, they have played a number of concerts in NYC, including the Forward Festival 2016 and 2018, and are currently promoting their debut album. This group is the ultimate mix between the classic New York sound of the avant-garde (i.e., John Coltrane & Albert Ayler) combined with electronic manipulation and production.

Although this is the first album they have released as a group, the four musicians have collaborated on different projects for years. The group was first formed when drummer Federico Ughi envisioned an ensemble comprised of some of his favorite super talented people. This includes Daniel Carter, who Federico first met in 2001. The two quickly developed a strong playing partnership, going on to create many albums and tours around the world and eventually founding 577 Records and the Forward Festival together. Federico plays drums in Tobias Wilner’s group Blue Foundation, renowned for its Hollywood movie soundtracks such as the vampire series Twilight in addition to Miami Vice and a busy world tour schedule. Federico also plays with Djibril Toure in the group Major Taylor, one of the best punk rock bands to come out of Bed-Stuy, Brooklyn in the last 10 years. Djibril plays regularly with GZA, a founding member of the Wu-Tang Clan and he’s the bass player featured on a selection of Wu-Tang's legendary albums.

To make this recording, New York United entered the studio without any preconceived plans or written music. They improvised brand new sounds on the spot that were later produced and molded by Tobias Wilner. The result is four strong and dreamy tracks that showcase the rich sound of the acoustic instruments alongside the power of the electronic beats. This project is being released as a limited edition 12’’ vinyl album plus one bonus track for the digital version.

Daniel Carter: Alto, Tenor Saxophones, Flute, Trumpet
Tobias Wilner: Electronics, Synth, Beats
Djibril Toure: Bass
Federico Ughi: Drums

Recorded by Tom Tedesco at Tedesco Studio, New Jersey on May 10, 2016

Mixed and produced by Tobias Wilner in Brooklyn, New York

Original recording produced by 577 Records

Cover photo by Federico Ughi
Graphic design by Sergio Vezzali

All music by Daniel Carter, Tobias Wilner, Djibril Toure and Federico Ughi (Five Seven Seven Records Music, ASCAP)

577 Records is an independent record label based in Brooklyn, New York operating since 2001

More from this collection