FREE SHIPPING in U.S. with $35 order!
FREE SHIPPING in U.S. with $35 order!
Cart 0
Creation Rebel – Hostile Environment [YELLOW VINYL IMPORT] – New LP
Creation Rebel – Hostile Environment [YELLOW VINYL IMPORT] – New LP
Creation Rebel – Hostile Environment [YELLOW VINYL IMPORT] – New LP
Creation Rebel – Hostile Environment [YELLOW VINYL IMPORT] – New LP
Creation Rebel – Hostile Environment [YELLOW VINYL IMPORT] – New LP
On-U Sound Records (UK)

Creation Rebel – Hostile Environment [YELLOW VINYL IMPORT] – New LP

Regular price $ 30.00 $ 0.00
Originally the backing group for the late reggae great Prince Far-I, Creation Rebel worked with Adrian Sherwood from 1978 - 1982, recording some of the best reggae dub music this side of Lee Perry during the early English punk era. Brilliant musicians such as Eskimo Fox, Bigga Morrison, Style Scott and Crucial Tony made music that is languorous, funky, spacey, and totally intoxicating.

Hostile Environment is the first album in over forty years from the legendary Creation Rebel, who were the original On-U Sound house band and responsible for classics such as Dub from Creation and Starship Africa. The trio of Crucial Tony, Eskimo Fox and Magoo are back with producer Adrian Sherwood to create a modern spin on their heavyweight dubwise rhythms.

It is the seventh album credited to the group, who originally coalesced as a live backing group for the late, great Prince Far I, in the process sharing stages with the likes of The Clash, The Slits and Don Cherry. Vocals from their former band leader, preserved on archive tapes, feature on the new record, as well as guest contributions from the likes of Cyrus Richards (musical director for Horace Andy and the Dub Asante Band), Italian synth maestro Gaudi, and fast chat king Daddy Freddy.

The album title refers to former British Prime Minister Theresa May’s controversial policy towards asylum seekers, and the recent Windrush scandal, all too relevant to a group of musicians of Jamaican origin who have spent their whole lives operating in the darkening shadow of a former colonial power with a staggeringly short memory for historic wrongs.

released October 6, 2023

2023, On-U Sound

rhythm and lead guitars
bass guitar on tracks 1 and 4

vocals on tracks 3, 5, and 8
percussion on track 4

vocals on tracks 1, 7 and 8

Kenton 'Fish' Brown - bass guitar
Cyrus Richards - piano/organ on tracks 1 to 8
Melodica on track 3
Prince Far I - vocals on tracks 1 and 6
Daddy Freddy - vocal on track 6
Gaudi - synth on tracks 1 and 9
Henry Tenyue - trombone on track 2
Megumi Mesaka - saxophone on track 2
Patrick Tenyue - trumpet on track 2
Mark Bandola - guitar on tracks 4 and 11
Winston 'Horseman' Williams - percussion on tracks 4, 8 and 11
Dean Fraser - saxophone on tracks 6 and 7
Okiel McIntyre - trumpet on tracks 6 and 7
Isha Bell - backing vocals on track 7
Dave Fulwood - trumpet and horn on track 8

Produced by Adrian Sherwood and Creation Rebel. An On-U Sound Production.
Engineered by Matthew ‘Good Things’ Smyth and Carlton 'Dilly' Mcleod,
Recorded at The On-U Sound Castle, Ramsgate; Stingray Studio, London; and Tad’s International Recording Studio, Kingston, Jamaica.
Mixed at On-U Sound.

Artwork by Peter Harris. Layout by Aloha Dead.


More from this collection