FREE SHIPPING in U.S. with $65 order!
FREE SHIPPING in U.S. with $65 order!
Cart 0
Marked Men, The - On The Other Side - New LP
Dirtnap Records

Marked Men, The - On The Other Side - New LP

Regular price $ 13.99 $ 0.00

This LP collects all non-LP tracks released by the 
Marked Men,  
originally released in the period between 2003 and 2010 on labels such  
as Dirtnap, Swami, No Idea, Shit Sandwich, and Mortville, plus 2  
never-before-heard unreleased tracks from deep in the vault.

It's hard to believe that it's been close to fifteen years since  
Dirtnap first released a Marked Men record. Since then, the label has  
done close to twenty releases by their various bands, (Marked Men,  
Radioactivity, High Tension Wires, Potential Johns, Mind Spiders). If  
you count the releases Mark Ryan and/or Jeff Burke had a hand in  
recording, that number goes even higher. It's a relationship that  
continues to this day, if there is/has been a "flagship band" for  
Dirtnap, Marked Men and their various offshoots are it. Although they  
continue to play  handful of shows each year, the band hasn't released  
any new material since 2009 (the last album came out in 2008.), and  
they have no plans to do so (although we would love to be proven wrong  
on that), so this compilation is as close to a new album as you’re  
going to get.

Their affinity for fast, choppy power chords and manic energy is  
well-collected here: “Like Robots” carries a propulsive floor tom x  
guitar line a la Buddy Holly with some harmonizing oooh’s. “That Kid”  
is all snotty “gonna beat you up” energy, fueled by bubbling  
instrumentation. “Go Cry” ramps this notion up yet even more. Lead  
track, “She Won’t Know” has all the 70s feels - leather jackets and  
motorbikes fueled by TaB and orange Crush. The ballad-like “The Other  
Side” flirts with deeper feelings with a slowed-down sincerity, while  
Whip Myself” leads off with a ringing guitar-lead-in and gives way to  
an ultimately melodic vs melancholy punk breakup song. The band  
stretches its legs throughout this solid closing credits collection  
and shows why it’s one of the leaders of a sound that has never gone  
(or will go) out of style.

Track List:
1.      She Won’t Know
2.      Nothing’s Changed
3.      On
4.      The Other Side
5.      Too Pretty To Fuck
6.      Whip Myself
7.      Lost It All
8.      Oh My Pretty Face
9.      Like Robots
10.     Wait Here Wait For You
11.     I Can’t Be Good
12.     Nothing Worthwhile
13.     Settle Down
14.     That Kid
15.     Disappear
16.     Go Cry

More from this collection