FREE SHIPPING in U.S. with $65 order!
FREE SHIPPING in U.S. with $65 order!
Cart 0
Mike Rep And Friends - Darby Creek Drifter – New LP
Mike Rep And Friends - Darby Creek Drifter – New LP
540 Records

Mike Rep And Friends - Darby Creek Drifter – New LP

Regular price $ 17.00 $ 0.00

The name Mike "Rep" Hummel means many things to different people. Many equate Rep with 70's "Proto-Punk", 80's"D.I.Y." or a pioneering founder of 90's "Lo-Fi" (Rep prefers the term "Mega-Fi" himself). Along with his bands Mike Rep & The Quotas & the seminal (Ohio) True Believers, he was also a a cohort in the 90's Columbus "supergroup" Ego Summit among a plethora of other Ohio band involvements. Also known for recording and/or mixing ("Lovingly Fucking With") such bands of note as Guided By Voices, Times New Viking, Jim Shepard, The Gibson Brothers, Strapping Fields Hands, Mount Carmel and dozens of others, mostly in their formative garage/basement incarnations. "I prefer deflowering to retooling. Both present worthwhile challenges but working with virgin talent won't get you an STD" he once infamously said. Still others remember him for his groundbreaking Columbus Ohio homegrown label "New Age Records" (named before there was such a thing as New Age music) which evolved into the 80's/90's cassette pioneering signpost to new space "OldAge/NO Age" label through the 90's. And so the name Mike Rep Hummel has a polarizing effect on many who either admire or deride his body of work. Hummel's new record "Darby Creek Drifter" is one that is sure to draw the line even deeper into the sand. Rep sez; "As my pal Bob Pollard" once quipped, "this does not rock". But it rolls baby, it rolls.

A1 Kansas Legend Bass – Jerry Felty Mandolin – Dave Townsend (4) Written-By – McKinnon*

A2 Book Taped To My Forehead Lead Guitar – Johnny Furnace, T.A. Lafferty Written-By – R. House*

A3 It's A Fright Written-By – J. Felty*

A4 Wreck On The Highway Written-By – D. Dixon*

A5 Pale Blue Eyes Featuring – The General (6), Tommy Jay Performer – Harrisburg Players* Written-By – V.U.*

A6 Grandfather's Clock Other – Don Rep And Red Written-By – H.C. Work*

B1 Long Nosed Gar Bass, Vocals – Jerry Felty Drums, Vocals – Jen Eling Performer – Sherry Gingery, Ted Lust Written-By – Hummel*

B2 She's An Outsider Written-By – Hummel*

B3 Doesn't Take Away The Pain Written-By – T. Lust*

B4 Mr. Bo Derek Lead Guitar, Acoustic Guitar, Drums – Nudge Squidfish Lyrics By [Additional] – Hummel* Written-By – JJ Walker*

B5 From A Stone Bass – Jerry Felty Written-By – Hummel*, T. Devin*

B6 Five To One Drums – Jen Eling Performer – The Jack Taylor Singers Written-By – The Doors

More from this collection