FREE SHIPPING in U.S. with $35 order!
FREE SHIPPING in U.S. with $35 order!
Cart 0
Itchy Self -  Here's The Rub 12" [IMPORT] – New LP
Drunken Sailor Records

Itchy Self - Here's The Rub 12" [IMPORT] – New LP

Regular price $ 25.00 $ 0.00

Another essential listen brought to you by the Drunken Sailor label (UK), the Fred Cole influence likely a part of this, both The Rats and Dead Moon, Exile-era Stones perhaps too, live-wire sparking, freight train coming, rough hewn and raw garage punk rock n roll, jabbing at your ears like a barefisted boxer working on a slab of meat, then shaking out the arms and toddling into things in the musty basement, rubbing out the knots and always coming from the gut. -- winch

FFO: Neon Boys, Mike Rep, the Saints, the Rats

Drawing influence from the looser end of the Ork records catalogue, the sensitive side of Ohio’s proto-punk scene and the grittiest and most sluggish tangent of 70’s power pop, Itchy Self’s debut 12” is an exploration of fully formed songs treated with spontaneous delivery. The group got together in early 2020 for 3 practices and a recording session and here are the results, laid out in their raw form. This is cross-generational racket n roll music that wears its heart on its loosey goosey sleeve. ‘B what you B’ is a life affirming testament to living against the grain that calls to mind the Modern Lovers’ aggressive positivity. Title track ‘Here’s the Rub’ is a barrage of abstract lyrics and skronky shred. ‘God Bless the Ego’ is an ode to the looseness and blurry eyed lucidity of indie rock’s forbearers such as Chilton, Kilgour, Pollard and Malkmus. ‘Reprobate’ is a Stones style ballad that channels the Saints and Johnny Thunders in equal measures. ‘Playing MTV’ is an audacious end remark to the record, that rips on classic Velvets strut and testifies it’s own ridiculous merit through boastful and catty lyrics. All in all, of course, it’s only Rock n Roll. This record is 1 part follow up to the Protruders “Poison Future” 12” on Feel It records (2019) and 1 part the first chapter of a new and exciting group formed in Canada’s capital of de-professionalized rock music. Recorded to 1/4 inch tape by Scott Munro (Preoccupations) and mastered by Mikey Young (Total Control), this record should provide a concise opening statement to anyone with the least bit of concern about Itchy Self. You’re gonna need an ocean of calamine lotion.


All songs by Joe Chamandy. Itchy Self is Scott Brown-Bass, Chris Burns-Guitar, Joe Chamandy-guitar/vocals, Zak Slax-Drums w/ back up vocals by Hélène Barbier, Kay Moon and Scott Munro. Recorded by Scott Munro and mixed by Scott Munro w/Itchy Self. Mastered by Mikey Young.

More from this collection