FREE SHIPPING in U.S. with $35 order!
FREE SHIPPING in U.S. with $35 order!
Cart 0
Tyson, June – Saturnian Queen Of The Sun Ra Arkestra – New LP
Tyson, June – Saturnian Queen Of The Sun Ra Arkestra – New LP
Modern Harmonic Records

Tyson, June – Saturnian Queen Of The Sun Ra Arkestra – New LP

Regular price $ 28.00 $ 0.00

Mark Deming: "The musical world of Sun Ra was one that demanded immersion and a willingness to surrender to the unique vision of the artist, both for the audience and for the musicians who worked alongside him. More than most bandleaders, Ra was a benevolent but absolute ruler whose concepts often overrode the musical personalities of the individuals in the Arkestra, and as a consequence the skills of longtime sidemen like John Gilmore and Marshall Allen weren't always fully appreciated by more casual observers. The same can be said of June Tyson, the vocalist who signed on with the Arkestra in 1968 and worked with Sun Ra up until her death in 1992. Tyson's role was especially demanding, as she not only had to mesh musically with an ensemble with an unusual approach to melody and song structure but she was also the mouthpiece for Ra's world view of abstract philosophy, race, and the possibilities of outer space. More than a quarter-century after her passing, Tyson's work with Sun Ra is finally given the examination it deserves with Saturnian Queen of the Sun Ra Arkestra, which brings together 56 minutes of recordings from the Arkestra's archives (five tracks are previously unreleased) with her vocals front and center. In these performances, it's easy to see that Tyson willingly put her talents at the service of Ra, yet she also fills these songs with a joy and élan that doesn't just complement the lyrics but gives them a clarity and plausibility they need (and might not have been given by other singers). On more straightforward numbers like "Outer Spaceways Incorporated" and standards like "Smile" and "Never Never Land," Tyson shows she had the chops and the instincts to have been a first-class jazz singer with any band; however, it's the more adventurous cuts like "We Travel the Spaceways," "Walking on the Moon," and "Satellites are Spinning" that demonstrate how well-suited to this music Tyson really was, easily bending her instrument to the shifting melodic structures, embracing the mystery of the lyrical broadsides, and occasionally approaching her parts less as the female singer and more as a fellow instrumentalist in full flight. June Tyson held a unique place in Sun Ra's Arkestra, as important in her way as any of his other collaborators, and she was one of Ra's most loyal acolytes for a reason -- he understood her talents and gave her the room to refine them in a way many bandleaders would not. Saturnian Queen of the Sun Ra Arkestra does right by June Tyson's massive if largely unsung legacy, and it's a useful sampler of her work as well as that of Sun Ra and the Arkestra from this period."


Undoubtedly the most sublime constellation in the Sun Ra cosmos, June Tyson’s voice is the perfect guide through one of the most challenging and varied musical legacies ever to be encountered. Capable of strong, fierce, and emotive vocalizations as well as intricate weavings, her voice transcends genre.


Vocalist best known for her work with Sun Ra. June was a member of the Sun Ra Arkestra from 1968 to 1992.
(b. February 5, 1936, Albemarle, North Carolina - d. November 24, 1992, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania)

A1 Outer Spaceways Incorporated Composed By – Sun Ra 3:01

A2 Somebody Else's World Composed By – Sun Ra 4:03

A3 Stardust From Tomorrow Composed By – Sun Ra 2:27

A4 We Travel The Spaceways Composed By – Sun Ra 2:31

A5 Astro Black Composed By – Sun Ra 2:04

A6 Theme Of The Stargazers Composed By – Sun Ra 1:00

A7 The Moors (aka Moorish Nights) Composed By – Sun Ra 4:07

B1 If You Are Not A Myth - Strange Worlds In My Mind Composed By – Sun Ra 1:32

B2 Outer Space Is A Pleasant Place Composed By – Sun Ra 3:22

B3 Tapestry From An Asteroid Composed By – Sun Ra 1:52

B4 Never Never Land Composed By – Adolph Green, Betty Comden, Jule Styne 2:50

B5 Smile Composed By – Charles Chaplin*, Geoffrey Parsons, James Phillips (3) 4:25

B6 Enlightenment Composed By – Sun Ra 2:50

B7 They'll Come Back Composed By – Sun Ra 2:37

Companies, etc. Phonographic Copyright ℗ – Modern Harmonic Copyright © – Modern Harmonic Distributed By – Sundazed Music, Inc.

Licensed From – Sun Ra

LLC Licensed From – Jim Newman

Credits Artwork, Design – Jon Hunt (8)

Co-producer [Associate Producer] – Michael D. Anderson*

Compilation Producer – Irwin Chusid Ensemble [Uncredited] – The Sun Ra Arkestra Liner Notes – Cat Celebrezze

Liner Notes [edited by] – Jason Gross

Mastered By – Joe Lizzi

Performer [Uncredited] – Sun Ra Producer [Original session] – Sun Ra

Production Manager – Stephanie Kennedy

Project Manager – Jay Millar

Notes Tracks 8, 11, 13, and 14 are previously unissued. Track 7 marked as "complete version."

More from this collection