Revillos - Rev Up - Used LP
Revillos - Rev Up - Used LP
Dindisc, Snatzo

Revillos - Rev Up - Used LP

Regular price $ 25.00 $ 0.00

sleeve and vinyl: VG (wear to both sleeve and vinyl, vinyl sounds great, sleeve has ringwear, small tag-removal tear and many creases).  English Import. 


Great stuff: Tons of fun!  Picking up where the Rezillos left off.  Revillos' albums didn't make it to the states, but they should have. Great stuff: Tons of fun!  


Emerging more than a year after Fay Fife and Eugene Reynolds broke a nation's heart by dismantling the Rezillosthe RevillosRev Up debut set the stage, immediately, for a mission that was going to take the last band's sound into an entirely new universe -- one that had, sad to say, already been visited by the B-52's' and the Cramps' recent doings, but which was nevertheless ripe for serious exploration. A dramatic hybrid of day-glo rockabilly, B-movie glitter, and post-punk trash, Rev Up is a howling good time, a blur of wacked intentions and wired energies that settle for a moment on one, two, a dozen classic boogies, but never hang around for long, because there's always another planet to build a drive-in on. And so, "Secret of the Shadow" blurs into the title track; "The Rock-A-Boom" leaks into "Voodoo"; and the semi-classic single "Motorbike Beat" incinerates everything in sight.

  • Backing Vocals [Loco-go Go]  The Revettes
  • Bass  William Mysterious
  • Drums [Beat Kit]  Rocky Rhythm
  • Engineer  Mike Engels* (tracks: 6), Steve Nye (tracks: 1, 7, 9, 12), Toni Tone
  • Guitar [Electro-plectrotune]  Kid Krupa
  • Lacquer Cut By  Porky (5)
  • Producer  Chris Lycett (tracks: 6), Eugene Reynolds (tracks: 2 to 5, 8, 10, 11, 13), Mike Howlett (tracks: 1, 7, 9, 12), The Revillos (tracks: 1, 7, 9, 12), Tony Pilley (tracks: 2 to 5, 8, 10, 11, 13)
  • Recorded By, Mixed By [Blended]  Eugene Reynolds, Tony Pilley
  • Vocals [Voice Squad]  Eugene Reynolds, Fay Fife


'The Revettes, (Babs & Cherie) Loco-Go Go, Backup and gyration artists.
Kid Krupa, Electro-plectrotune, swings and zings with his twangy electric guitar.
Fay Fife, Voice Squad, when she says go! She means Go-Go-Go!
Rocky Rhythm, Beat Kit, dashing and debonair, he's the Thunder Thud King!
Eugene Reynolds, Voice Squad, is quite a case! The rest of the group have to watch out for him!'

These labels are also mentioned: Strato Play, Barclay Towers.

More from this collection