FREE SHIPPING in U.S. with $35 order!
FREE SHIPPING in U.S. with $35 order!
Cart 0
Foxhall Stacks – The Coming Collapse – New LP
Foxhall Stacks – The Coming Collapse – New LP
Snappy Little Numbers

Foxhall Stacks – The Coming Collapse – New LP

Regular price $ 16.00 $ 0.00

clear vinyl

released September 20, 2019

The Coming Collapse was produced and engineered between 2016 and 2018 by Geoff Sanoff at Magpie Cage in Baltimore, MD, Renegade Studios in New York, NY, and The Bastille in Arlington, VA.
Additional engineering and technical support from J. Robbins and Matt Redenbo at Magpie Cage and Eamonn Aiken at The Bastille. Mastered by Dan Coutant at Sun Room Audio.

Many, many thanks for the additional vocals, instrumentation, and arrangement ideas provided by Geoff Sanoff and Renée LoBue. And many, many thanks to Chuck Coffey for all his support.

All songs written by Jim Spellman, Bill Barbot, Peter Moffett, and Brian Baker.
Much love and gratitude to Erin, Steve, Julia, Victoria, and Jenny, who all accommodated our madness over a way-too long stretch of years making this record.
Photography by Farah Skeiky (band) and Lewis Francis (jacket and insert). Artwork and layout by William Colgrove.
All songs © 2018 Foxhall Stacks Music, BMI/ASCAP.

Guitarist Jim Spellman (Velocity Girl, High Back Chairs) assembled these DC veterans in late 2015. Bassist Brian Baker is a legit punk godfather, with close to 40 years on bass and guitar for Minor Threat, Dag Nasty, and Bad Religion. Pete Moffett drummed for Government Issue and Wool before joining singer/guitarist Bill Barbot (Jawbox) in Burning Airlines. Decent pedigree, this lot.


Tom Dumarey: You may not have heard of Washington DC’s Foxhall Stacks just yet, but you have definitely already heard of its members. I mean, this band’s line-up reads like a who’s who of awesomeness: Bill Barbot (Jawbox, Burning Airlines), Jim Spellman (The High-Back Chairs, Velocity Girl), Brian Baker (Minor Threat, Dag Nasty, Bad Religion) and Peter Moffett (Government Issue, Burning Airlines). They are all in on this together.

But of course, band members with a pedigree don’t necessarily make for a good album. As luck - or sheer talent - would have it, ‘The Coming Collapse’ is true power-pop bliss with a glam stomp and rock ‘n roll swagger. Think The Posies, Cheap Trick, Slade, Mott The Hoople and Replacements.

Opener ‘The Reckoning’ immediately sets the tone, ‘Failure’ sounds like the Posies going pop and the harmonies in ‘Top Of The Pops’ will brighten up your day no matter how shitty it is.

Don’t sleep on this one. If the collapse the band refers to in the album title really is upon us, then we should at least be able to face it with a totally wild soundtrack.


Track listing:

  1. The Reckoning    
  2. Turntable Exiles    
  3. Law Of Averages    
  4. Worried    
  5. The Old Me    
  6. Failure    
  7. Take Control    
  8. Top Of The Pops    
  9. Do It Yesterday    
  10. Rough Sailors

More from this collection