FREE SHIPPING in U.S. with $35 order!
FREE SHIPPING in U.S. with $35 order!
Cart 0
Chicago Gangsters – Blind Over You – Used LP
Chicago Gangsters – Blind Over You – Used LP
Chicago Gangsters – Blind Over You – Used LP
Chicago Gangsters – Blind Over You – Used LP
Gold Plate Records

Chicago Gangsters – Blind Over You – Used LP

Regular price $ 69.00 $ 0.00

Vinyl: VG+ (name written on label--see photo)
Sleeve: VG+ (some ringwear and name written on back--see photos)

Debut album from this Akron outfit, coming out of Isaac Hayes, Curtis Mayfield, Sly Stone, Norman Whitfield, Funkadelic, Philly soul, Chicago soul, and of course all that funk that was going down from their fellow Buckeyes, looking back for inspiration, but also foreshadowing styles that would rise in the world of hip hop.  While this has plenty of vocals, and sometimes goes into soul ballads, only the players are credited, in sort of a flip-around of practices so common in the 1960s where the players weren't credited.  Here we got keyboardist Tennyson Stephens, bassist Richard Evans (I assume of Cadet fame considering he also offers arrangements and two cuts on the set), drummer Brian Grice, Chicago trumpeter John Howell (Impressions, Mayfield), Chitown saxman Clifford Davis (older brother of Carl Davis) and Chicago guitarist Phil Upchurch, so it's easy to see how they came up with the name of the group.  In fact, considering this featured so many Chitown players and was recorded in Chicago (engineered in Cleveland and Detroit) I'm not sure why so many sources call this an Akron outfit. Perhaps it's the Mac and Mac (Chris and Sam McCants) who produce the set and are credited for four of the selections.  Some of the soul ballads like the two openers are quite enjoyable (and probably only don't credit the singers because of contractual obligations), the band easing into the set with the signature Chicago soul of the title track, a long laidback groove intro to a version of Willie Hutch's 1973 "I Choose You," but this is likely mostly sought after for the funky numbers that dominate much of the rest of the set, the band offering all sorts funk, some cuts looking back a half dozen years to Sly Stone and Funkadelic, but other times planted right there in the funk of the mid 1970s and with "Gangster Boogie" even part of that mid 70s leap forward toward the post-disco early days of hip hop.  Classic set, the band slick and down-and-dirty gritty, keeping the groove loose and tight like a slinky dress on some untethered hips. -- winch (green noise records)


  • Recorded At  P.S. Recording Studios
  • Engineered At  United Sound Systems
  • Engineered At  Cleveland Recording
  • Published By  Jobete Music
  • Pressed By  PRC Recording Company, Richmond, IN
  • Distributed By  Amherst Records


  • Arranged By  J. Johnithis, Richard Evans (2), R. Shann*, Sam D. Byrd
  • Design [Album]  Maurer Productions
  • Engineer  Ken Hamann
  • Engineer [Cleveland Recording Co.]  Ken Sands
  • Engineer [United Sound]  Paul Serrano
  • Executive-Producer  L. McCants*
  • Photography By  Jeremiah Bean
  • Written-By  Gangsters* (tracks: B1, B2), Mac And Mac* (tracks: A1, A3, A4, B4), R. Evans* (tracks: B3, B5), Willie Hutch (tracks: A2)

More from this collection